I Have a Confession.

This newsletter contains the full and on-going story of my painting “Tempest” plus-

  • Religion

  • Mental Health

  • What’s next

First I’ve been told many of my emails have been showing up in spam folders, especially for gmail users. Moving my emails to your primary inbox should do the trick.

Instagram Vs Reality

We all know Instagram is a place for most to show your best moments, memories, all the peak things in life that are “Instagramable.”

I have even fallen into the trap of trying to perform as an entertainer of such day in and day out even when times aren’t so great.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love what I do and I was fortunate enough to have an internal drive instilled in me that helps with creating all of this content/new paintings with urgency. (parents and my football coaches are to blame!)

but..

The only downside is,

I can’t seem to switch it off which in turn causes never ending thoughts of not doing/creating enough.

The more followers/messages/subscribers that I get, the more I feel the need to “perform.”

No pity party here, I wouldn’t change the gift I have been given, just from now on I need to take life a little less serious.

The Story

“Tempest”, my latest Faith based piece, was initially the byproduct of a breakup.

Instead of talking to somebody, or hanging out with friends, I went to what usually works when something bad happens.

Create something new. Something that consolidates my thoughts, or just gets my mind off things.

Garnering more than 1.17 million likes since.. it went mega viral.

Tons of praise and opportunities came flooding in.

Everyone wanted to know my “Testimony.”

I feel as if I didn’t have one.

I felt fake.

Maybe because I don't subscribe to any one denomination.

Maybe because I haven’t been to church in a while or can recite versus from memory that well.

I don’t know.

I do know that Jesus doesn’t care what church you go to, if you do go, time in attendance, or if you can pull up a verse for every situation you’re in.

I only know is that if you seek him, he will be found by you.

That’s what this piece has given me the kicker to do.

Seek God even more.

In creating this piece, I have found my testimony.

I’m on a journey of self discovery and entrepreneurship is the catalyst.

There’s no better starting blue print for the entrepreneur than the Bible.

What’s Next

The Print Drop for “Tempest” is now SIX weeks away.

Easter weekend- March 29-30

There will be several versions available which all of you will be notified of pre-drop.

You haven’t missed anything, exact pricing, sizing, framing options will be released closer to the drop.

A few surprises are on the horizon for my future collectors of this piece.

I hope this story resonates with some of you who feel like me, and to those who are in the storm. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

See you next Friday with updates,

Sam Ryan

Join the conversation

or to participate.