Why did I start painting Jesus?

...and an African American cowboy.

It’s very simple…see below👇🏽

How it started.

2020-2022

How it’s going.

2023-2024

I used to ask myself these questions. “What can I paint that will go viral”, “What will blow up?” “Who is popular that everyone likes?”

I wanted to market my art to everyone. Which in turn hurt my true identity and I got lost.

I wanted to gain so many views and a whole bunch of followers to feel accepted. But something was missing.

Once I started creating for myself in these last few pieces, things started to clear up for me.

I’ve realized what the beauty is in art and community. Not everyone will like what I create for myself out in the big world. Many will make it known that they don’t too.

Only a select few, in this short time we have together, will see my art as I create it throughout my lifetime in here. Get the stories and meaning behind my works.

My goal is to find more people like you and hope to inspire them, bring them joy with my work. And help other aspiring artists. Show them what’s possible with their God-given ability and an internet connection.

We are 27 days away from the “Tempest” print drop. Yeahh!!

If you are new here and are looking for updates about those prints, please click below to view the last newsletter. Vote in the poll if you plan on collecting a print:)

These polls are vital to my process. I appreciate everyone who has taken the time to do them.

Next Friday you’ll get more updates on the Limited Canvas Edition prints.

See you then.

-Sam Ryan

Join the conversation

or to participate.